Salute! to Healthcare

Salute Logo

GDACH celebrated our annual awards event this year on November 8 at the Dearborn Inn with a delicious fall-themed breakfast. This year's ceremony honored the hard work of three individuals and one organization in their commitment to improving the health and well-being in the Southeast Michigan community. Riding on the success of the event, we are working to make next year's even more special as we turn 75! We truly hope that you will join us in marking this tremendous occasion and all of the exceptional we have done - and continue to do - to promote the vision of "Healthy People. Healthy Economy."" across the region and state.


Sy Gottlieb Award

Paul Bridgewater
This year we honor, Paul Bridgewater, President & CEO of the Detroit Area Agency on Aging.
The Sy Gottlieb Award was established in 1992 in recognition of Symond Gottlieb, a former executive director of GDAHC. Mr. Gottlieb was an outstanding leader who made numerous contributions to healthcare reform in our region. The award recognizes an outstanding healthcare professional who has demonstrated sustained visionary leadership in southeast Michigan. Recent past awardees include Nancy Schlichting of Henry Ford Health System, Brian Connolly of Beaumont Health, and Adam Jablonowski of the Wayne County Medical Society.

Eagle Award for Visionary Leadership

Michigan-OPEN (Opioid Prescribing Engagement Network) is this year's Eagle Award recipient.
In 2004, GDAHC established the Eagle Award to recognize the contributions of an organization in southeast Michigan that has made steady progress in advancing healthcare quality, access or cost. Recent past awardees include Samaritan Center of Detroit, Arab American & Chaldean Council, and the Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries.



Breakthrough Award

Hassan F. AbdallahBetty Priskorn
GDAHC will be celebrating two honorees this year: Hassan F. Abdallah, Co-Founder & Executive Director of SAFE Substance Abuse Coalition and Betty Priskorn, Vice President of Community Health & Outreach for Beamount.
The Breakthrough Award was first introduced in 2015, and recognizes an individual or organization for their impact on the health and well-being of southeast Michigan through community engagement and innovation. Recent past awardees include the Center for Disparity Solutions & Equity at the University of Michigan - Dearborn and Cassie Sobelton of SynBella.

Thank you to our sponsors!

Gold Sponsor

Beaumont Logo

Specialty Sponsors

Priority Logo

Silver Sponsors

Ascension Logo
Delta Dental Logo
Michigan Medicine Logo
St. Joseph Mercy Health System Logo

For information regarding previous award winners, please see our individual pages for our most recent Salute!'s: 2017, 2016, and 2015.